• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

New Microsoft Program: Seeking Input

In summary, Anyone have any input on this new program? People seem to agree that it is not a good idea to use it yet, and that Vista is not as good as previous versions of Windows.
Chozengirl
Gold Member
Anyone have any input on this new program?
I need to buy a Microsoft package, and wondered about this one that was just released.

It's not really a program, it's a new version of Windows. Unless you have a very new computer, it will probably slow your system down. And it's probably riddled with bugs and security holes. (Disclaimer: I have not used Vista yet, nor will I until a) there's been at least one set of patches/fixes and b) I absolutely have to in order to use the software I have.)

I agreeI second what Ann said. I'm not an expert, but I've learned through experience NEVER to use a new version of any software, because they are ALWAYS loaded with problems.

My DH is a computer geek and he say DO NOT GET IT until they have service pack 1 out. He says they are already working on it.

Ditto on all the above. Our IT guys here at work aren't too keen on the new program.

I'm not to keen on Microsoft at all, but that's my Mac-using bias coming out. :)

And, also, as a note for everyone...we are testing Microsoft Office 2007, and it is a huge memory hog and runs slow when running with Windows XP. We are just starting to install Vista and then will try Office again to see if it runs it better.I am so happy with XP, but because we are on a campus, we need to stay up to date so that we can help students that switch over....personally, certainly wait!

chefann said:
I'm not to keen on Microsoft at all, but that's my Mac-using bias coming out. :)