• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Reviews of "Build It Big" and "Idiots Guide to Party Plan Selling

In summary, "Build It Big" by DSWA and "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Party Plan Selling" by Karen Phelps are two popular books on direct sales and party plan selling, respectively. While "Build It Big" seems to be a comprehensive guide with practical tips and strategies, "The Complete Idiot's Guide" has mixed reviews and may be more suitable for those new to direct sales. Ultimately, it's important to do some research and decide which book aligns with your specific needs and goals.
Cookingfool
Has anyone used the books "Build It Big" or "Complete Idiots Guide to Party Plan Selling"? I have plenty of background in Direct Sales, but am always looking for new ideas. I am trying to decide which one I would like to buy, and was wondering if anyone has used either one.

I've read:
-Lemonaid Lady's Presentations for Profits which I thought was very good. The rest of her books are geared towards people who have absolutely no marketing skills at all -- I bought a few and returned them. Since my background is in marketing/pr I tend to shy away from the "beginner" books in basic direct sales. If you have no sales or marketing experience, definately check out the Lemonaid Lady's other books.

-Build it Big and More Build it Big -- Both very good with a ton of ideas.

-Belinda Ellsworth Chef Success website has a ton of articles that I found useful.

-I've read both of of Gitomer's recent books (Red book on sales and black book on referrals) They are okay -- a bit repetitive but maybe that's why by the end I thought I knew it all! :)

I'd love to hear other people's suggestions -- I have a $100 Barnes & Noble Gift Card burning a hole in my wallet!