• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Optimizing Your Show Length: Tips from a Consultant

In summary, a consultant typically spends 4 hours or less at a show. They arrive 1/2 hour ahead of time, set up, do a demo, and take orders. They typically leave around 2 hours after the show is finished. They bring their laptop to speed up the process.
CathyBob
Gold Member
I have been a consultant for almost a year now and was wondering what the average length of a show is.

For me it depends on the number of people - but if my average number is between 8 and 12 people - my shows tend to be 4hrs+ from start to finish.

I show up 1/2 hr ahead to set up and then do my talk, demo, hand out catalogues and then check-out - when that is done, I do dishes and pack up!

I find 4hrs a long show and want to cut it down, but don't know how to do it without seeming like I am rushing.

Any suggestions?

Are you meaning from the time I arrive early to leaving after everyone but the Host is gone and I'm packed? It would be more in the 3-4 hour range, but the actual Show time is less than 2 hours...

If it's a BIG show and I have a lot of orders, I'm there for 3 hours. Usually it's 30 minutes before to set up, 45 minute (MAX) demo, 30 - 45 minutes to take orders and 10-15 to wrap up with my host....so that's 2 hours if everything runs smoothly. I do dishes while people are shopping and eating. I go back and forth from the sink to the guests to answer questions, do the draw, etc...

I would say from arriving a half hour early to being in my car backing out of their driveway it is 2 1/2- 3 1/2 hours.