• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Ice Cream Scoop Is Discoloring?

In summary, if you own an ice cream scoop and it's discolored, the most likely cause is that you let it soak in water or it was washed in the dishwasher.
ChefMann
Hi guys,
Maybe you all can help me. I'm fairly new with PC and haven't come across this yet. I have a customer that handed me her ice cream scoop the other day and it was horribly discolored and it looks like the finish is coming off. I'm wondering if she is put it through the dishwasher? Anyway, she's wondering if the finish just does that or if she has a faulty scoop. My guess is that she has let it soak in water too long or maybe it wound up in the dishwasher. Have any of you come across this? Any tips for people who buy the scoop besides warning them against putting it in the dishwasher?

I don't talk about the ice cream dipper very much, but when it comes up I tell people it will discolor if washed in the dishwasher. I also say that the scoop should be dried off right away to avoid discoloration and not left to soak.

My dipper looks like that too, but it's been left in the sink with water over night! So that's probably what happened!!

Yep! Both of those things will discolor it...

If you leave it sitting in water, it will "grow" little white deposits that can be scrubbed off, but once it discolors, there's nothing to fix it. As long as the seal hasn't been broken and it still works, the coloring does not affect it. BUT- if it's discolored from running through the DW it may have broken the seal on the handle, and if that happens the liquid in there will either leak out or dry up and not work.

AH, okay!