• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Efficient Ways to Approach Potential Customers for Your New Business

A
Andrea1627
I'm just starting my new business and wondered how you approach people to either buy or book a party?

I don't just want to say, hi this is Andrea, I do Pampered Chef...would you like to look at a catalog or book a show? What is a way to say this without getting the no word?

I carry my catalog tote with me and when people comment or ask me what I do, I tell them I'm a PC consultant. Then ask them whether they've heard of PC. Most people have, but if they haven't tell them you do cooking shows and demo cooking tools. If that sparks interest, ask them about taking a catalog (or mini catalog or business card) and if they'd like to host a cooking show or do a catalog show. If not, maybe ask for an order depending on the response. If they ask any questions about being a consultant or show any interest in your "job", get their phone number and call them when it's convenient if it's not a good time to talk to them further. I met an Avon lady at the gas station and she ended up hosting a show and may possibly become a consultant. You never know! Some you'll get a flat "no" from, but keep asking and you'll get some "yes's" after awhile. The key is to ask, ask, ask and hand out business cards freely (leave with your tip at a restaurant). It's a great practice to ask people you do business with to do business with you and you can tell them "I'm just getting started in my business so I'm asking anybody I do business with to help me". I guess, in short I'm saying the best conversation opener is "Hello, I'm ___ and I'm a PC consultant. Are you familiar with pampered Chef?" and go from there. HTH.

Jeanie Gay