• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Struggling with Mental Blocks as a New Consultant: Any Tips?

In summary, Nynaeve is trying to figure out how to overcome her anxiety and get bookings. She is also considering doing catalog shows for family members who are farther away.
Nynaeve
Hi! I have *no* idea if I'm doing this part right (I hang out on boards, but every place is a little different). This seemed like the right place to pick some brains.

I have a mental block about talking about PC (I'm a new consultant working on qualifying - about halfway there). I know part of the answer is "just do it" (LOL), but I'm wondering, is there some good verbiage to help me not sound like an idiot? Plus, any tips on how to work up that mental courage that I'm not asking people to do me a favor, but I'm actually doing something FOR THEM? (I think it was because, like when people decide to tell a pregnant woman every birth horror story, several people decided to use me as the target for their 'let me tell you about this horrendous party I had to go to' stories).

I need an attitude check (my recruiter has been WONDERFUL and is the one who sent me out here). Right now I keep waffling between "stick with it until it's successful' and 'just qualify and RUN' (and I know that it's because of the anxiety, which just makes me then push back to sticking with it because of things like Kathy Bates and Fried Green Tomatoes). I need bookings, though, in a fierce kinda way (no family within a 300 mile radius and just moved...yikes! My grand opening was a dud). What kind of mental exercises help keep the choking to a minimum when doing things like Pampering a business or handing out recipe cards to people I meet in the check-out line?

Thanks for listening to me ramble. :: peace out ::