• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Should I Sell or Trash My Crashed Computer?

Information Security and Intelligence class now, and it's amazing what you can get off a "broken" hard drive with shareware that's free on the internet. If you have EnCase software, used by professional digital forensics experts, you can find even more.
tabnat80
Gold Member
Ok. So most of you might remember that my dell inspiron computer crashed a few months back. Well, we are having a yardsale on Saturday and I just wanted to know if i should sell it or just trash it. The harddrive is crashed. If it had a new harddrive, it would work as good as new, but as of right now it's worthless. I just was curious if you think it would sell, how much should i ask, or should I just trash it. I'm not really a computer expert and I know some folks know how to tinker with broken stuff so i just need input. Thanks

I personally would not sell it, you can get a new hard drive cheap on ebay and all it takes is unscrewing a couple screws and pull out one hard drive and replace. It's easy, I did it in about 15 mins start to finish

Well, we already bought a new one. So, I dont' want to put any more money into the old one.

Depends on the model for price...do you have a serial # on it - I can look up ALL the specs for you including mfg. date.

I would replace the hard drive and keep it as a 2nd computer.

DebbieJ said:
I would replace the hard drive and keep it as a 2nd computer.

Depending on how old it is (I was reserving judgment on finding the model/date), I would do the same thing!

It was an inspriron 5190. I got it about 4-1/2 years ago. I ended up selling it at the yardsale for 20 bucks. I was just happy someone got it. Maybe they can get it working again. thanks for the input.

tabnat80 said: