• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Shipping on Backordered Items....

In summary, this conversation discusses how backordered items can be shipped directly to the guests rather than the host.
lesliec
I am sitting here, looking at a pink tomato knife that belongs to one of my friends. She was a guest at a show in May, and the show was shipped to my house. The knife ended up being back ordered and came about a week after I had delivered her other items to her. It has probably been sitting here close to 30 days though. She is a good friend, we're both busy, and neither of us has made time for it.
I know last summer (before I was a consultant) MIL had a show and one of my items was back ordered (can strainer). Small item, not a huge priority, buy I never got it from her. She doesn't know what happened to it.
All of this got me thinking, why doesn't HO just direct ship late coming items? In my experience it is usually only 1 item for one person, and it would cost the same for them to ship it directly to the person as opposed to the host. Just a though. Anyone have any thoughts on this one?

Well, I had a couple shows in late May with backordered pink knives. 7 on one order and 4 on the other. In that case, it was much cheaper to ship to the host than to do 7 or 4 direct ships. ;)

I can definitely see your point in that scenario. I am new, but most of the backorderd items I have had have been just one item per show. I just feel like it is asking a lot of the hosts to have to deliver multiple times to the guests b/c the company doesn't send it all out at once.
Of course I also have a show that has 4 backordered DCB's on it right now, so it is not an all the time situation, but I was just suggesting that it may be a courtesy for those who are already having to wait extra time for their products.