• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Planning a Small Open House in Florida: Tips & Ideas

In summary, an open house is not the best idea because it has limited potential and the host would rather people just come and shop. An actual show with a start time would be more successful.
Jennifer E
I am a new consultant and next month I am traveling to Florida to see my mom. While there, she wants me to do an Open House for her. I have been doing some reading on this site about open houses and here are some questions/ thoughts:

1. I have seen several people mention that they would not call it an open house, however mom really wants people to come for awhile, shop and then leave when they are ready. She lives in an area with limited parking and her place is pretty small and has a terrible floor plan for large parties.

2. Since I live in another state, I will not even promote hosting as I don't really want to return to do another show! I can promote catalog shows, however.

3. I thought I would make, ahead of time, 2-3 appetizers (any recommendations are welcome) and maybe one dessert. I would have items out for them to try out. Things to cut and slice and chop to highlight some products. But not really do a show, so to speak. I would have an opportunity maybe 2-3 times when there are a lot of people that that I could stand up and give few hints and highlight a product or two.

Ok...I need ideas, thoughts and recommendations. My head is spinning and I need to get my mind wrapped around all of it!
Thanks in advance for the great ideas, because I always get lots from ya'll!

For an app, I would recommend the greek cheese torta! Always a hit! And it typically gets people to buy the greek rub, which is something they may continue to order from you online.