• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Is Pursuing a Massage Therapy Career Worth Sacrificing Time with My Child?

T
tashayoung
Massage school??? What to do?I'm so torn...I work Full Time as a Staff Accountant and I sell PC part time. I want to have PC replace my FT income. I also have always wanted to be a Massage Therapist. Anyway, I'm thinking about going to school to learn this and I would go in Monday and Wednesday nights for 14 months and all my book work will be done online.

I'm just scared because I really want to do this and I'm working towards becoming a PC Director and I'll be working my FT job until I can quit...plus I have a 4 year old daughter.

I know that I can set up a schedule and I'd be ok.
Monday - school
Tuesday - homework and rest
Wednesday - school
Thursday - PC show or rest
Friday - PC show or rest
Saturday - PC show or rest
Sunday - PC show (only if none on Sat) or rest

I know I can do it. I also know that the busier I am, the more I accomplish in my spare time. I'm just scared. I'm also at a point where the only debt I have is my car and a credit card with $400 on it...but going to school I'd end up with $12,000 in student loans...AHHHH!

Last edited by a moderator:
Tasha - I just finished my Master's Degree last year (started with a < 1 year old and a 3 year-old) finished when they were almost 3 and 5.

I did it with many other activities but was MOTIVATED to finish.

You seem to have a schedule - stick with it. Maybe narrow the options for shows down to only certain evenings and leave the rest of the time for PC paperwork and/or schoolwork.

Good luck!

P.S. Not to brag, but to show it can be done...my Master's Degree was in Technology Management and I got straight A's while working FT with 2 little kids.

HI Tasha,