• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Is Bitter Yuck the Solution to My Dog's Couch-Chewing Habit?

usually they mellow out when they are tired.I think this is a great suggestion! When our yorkie was younger, we would take him for walks, play with him, and then put him in his crate when we were done. This helped him to learn that there were times when he couldn't be around people or other dogs.
GeorgiaPeach
Silver Member
Some of you might remember that we got a puppy a few months ago. I am completely new to the whole "dog" thing. She ate her poop and freaked me out...and you guys helped me through it :) So I thought I'd share the latest "Chloe" installment.

She sleeps in the basement with a old, stained recliner my son got FREE at a yard sale and an ugly but in very good condition hide a bed couch. A couple days ago I went down to take her out and she had eaten a hole in the arm of the couch! (Not the ugly, cheap recliner mind you!) It looked like someone took an ice cream scoop and scooped a perfect circle. She ate all the way to the wood frame and had even gnawed on it too :(

I told my husband he better figure out a way to keep her from eating anymore. Well, she started ANOTHER spot.

Today I went to PetSmart and found "Bitter Yuck". Yes, that is really the name. Anyway, I started spraying the ENTIRE couch with the stuff. My son came in the room. The mist had got in our mouths and noses. We opened the door to let in fresh air. Then we started gagging and coughing. Colter started spitting off the deck. We were laughing so hard, then gagging, then coughing, then laughing.

We ran upstairs to get something to drink. I even got down on all fours and started sniffing the glade plug in!! (I'm not exaggerating...I really did this!) The "bitter yuck" had gone up my nose!!