• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Gas Stove Panic: Tips for a Successful Power Cooking Show with a Moms Club?

In summary, the author is supposed to do a power cooking show for her local Moms club tomorrow and has never used a gas stove before. She recommends not cooking above medium on a gas stove. Gas is easy to use and there is no difference in timing. There is a lot of training available online. She is expecting around 45 ladies at the meeting.
4kids4me
I'm supposed to do a power cooking show for my local Moms club tomorrow. Just found out the stove I'm using is gas. I've NEVER used a gas stove before. Should I be worried? Tips? any other tips on doing a power cooking show with 20+ women? TIA!

Gas is so easy to use! You don't need to let the burner warm up, like on electric. But otherwise, it'll be just the same.That should be fun! Are you doing it as an interactive show? If so, I got a great tip from my Director: break the recipes into steps and have a "Job Jar" with all the steps on little slips of paper. Have everyone draw one, and that's what they do in the recipe. Then you're not singling people out.

as far as the gas goes no worries... do not cook above medium for best results.

I love cooking with gas stoves, so much easier! There really is no difference in timing. Just make sure it actually lights or you are filling the kitchen with gas.

:)Gas Stoves are just the same a regular stove. Ask the Host for a quick 'show-me' before it starts if you are worried. Honestly, you have nothing to worry about. :)

Thanks for the encouragement, ladies! We're using a church kitchen, so no hostess. Hopefully someone there will know what to do if it doesn't light before I blow the place up! Yikes!

I love the idea of a job jar!! Thanks!