• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Cooking Thanksgiving Dinner for the First Time - Tips & Recipes!

really think about what you want to say. It can be really moving.Fresh Turkey? Frozen turkey? I like to cook mine in a plastic bag..not sure what the name of the bags are but you find them at the grocery store. The turkey stays nice and moist. If the turkey is frozen, put it in the oven at 250oF before you go to bed. It will baste itself all through the night and be nice and juicy when it's time to eat it. Now...the hell with the food...what will your dinning room table look like? Colourful? candles? name cards? Impress the family, have fun and enjoy!
chefmoseley
Gold Member
I can use all the tips, advice, recipes I can get. It's my first year cooking Thanksgiving Dinner. It will be myself, hubby, our kids (5,4,1) and my mom, grandmom and a family friend. I would like to have a traditional dinner with turkey, stuffing, mashed tatters, pies, sweet tatter casserole...rolls and more...thanks for any help :) Never cooked a turkey before in my life!

My suggestion is to allow extra time. Also, don't be afraid to accept help. If everyone brings something you'll have a lot less to do and a lot less stress.

Don't forget to take the stuff out of the turkey - the giblets, neck, etc that's in there when you buy it! If you cook it with that stuff in there, its inedible. A first time turkey cooker might not realize!! :) I've heard many stories of holidays gone bad because of this!!

Also: relax and enjoy. It's not a holiday if you can't enjoy your family! Don't be afraid to ask people to bring something!! In my family, mom does the turkey and stuffing and everyone else is responsible for bringing the sides!

And for Dessert I recommend the Autumn Apple-Cherry Crisp.