• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Cooking Questions: Substituting Butter with Margarine

In summary, people should use real butter when recipes call for it, and margarine is not as good as real butter.
newchef2010
Hello everyone,
I am still in my first 30 days and this site has helped my so much.
I am not a very good cook but I love to try. That said, when a recipe says butter do you use butter or does anyone substitute margarine? Is it ok to cook with margarine or should I use only butter to cook?:confused:

Hi. I'm no expert, but if it calls for real butter, I use real butter. Margarine has more vegetable oil in it (I think) than butter. I do my baking with real butter. Just my experience, hope this helps. :)

I only use real butter. Neither are "good" for you so why not have the REAL thing?!

BethCooks4U said:
I only use real butter. Neither are "good" for you so why not have the REAL thing?!

My sentiments exactly!!!! :)

Butter tastes better too!

ChefBeckyD said:
I only use butter.

Here is one of many articles on the subject....

Butter Up: Why Butter is a Healthy Choice

I stopped using margarine years ago. Thanks, Becky, for the informative article. I printed the article so that I can show it to certain people that insist that the manufactured spreads are better. :rolleyes:

DH is a big butter fan so that's what we use to cook with.

Me too especially when it is called for. Margarine or the other substitutes use water and that actually changes the moisture level in recipes and changes the out come of the recipe. ESPECIALLY WHEN BAKING! In fact, my doctor said butter is better as it is more natural and is really not any worse than the so called good for you things! So... MODERATION IS THE KEY!

pampered1224 said: