• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Where to Explore in Chicago: Suggestions for a Free Day

In summary, Ann and her director's director are flying into Midway Airport on Sunday July 13th. This gives them and entire day to see Chicago, as well as the nights after Conference. They have been to Chicago before and know that there is a lot to do in the city. They suggest Taste of Chicago, Navy Pier, and Michigan Avenue for shopping. They also recommend the Shedd Aquarium, Sears Tower, and the Blue Man Group.
chefmoseley
Gold Member
My director's director and I are flying into Midway around 10am on Sunday July 13th. This gives us and entire day to see Chicago in addition to the nights after Conference. What would you suggest? My director's director has been many times and says since it's my first year to Conference and my first year as a consultant we can go where ever I would like to go. Neither of us are shoppers, more like site seeing types... What are you doing the nights after conference or when you fly in early?

There won't really be a lot of time after conference on those days. Day 1, you'll have to get dinner for yourself, day 2 is Exec. Banquet, and many people leave town the afternoon/evening of Day 3. So you really only have Sunday. My cluster usually does a little window shopping on Michigan Avenue, including lunch at The Cheesecake Factory (we buy cheesecake for dessert, and walk back to the hotel with it to work it off). There's sometimes a festival going on in the parks. And Navy Pier has some fun stuff to do, too, including boat rides (Wednesday and Saturday nights there are fireworks).

You could go to a play. Last year Wicked was playing and one year we went to see Menopause. There are great museums a cab ride away from the hotels. Check out Chicago's website for more ideas.