1. Join Chef Success Today!
    Get support for your PC business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of support threads! Totally Free!
    Dismiss Notice

Pampered Chef: Truffle Brownie Cup question (ganache isn't right!)

1. Hi everyone! I am a new consultant who is about to have her very first cooking show this week (had 4 catalog shows so far). My host has chosen the Truffle Brownie cups and I made them tonight (to test them).

My problem was with the ganache filling. I followed the recipe exactly and I had to whip the HECK out of the stuff to get it even remotely "stiff" - and that was after leaving it in the freezer/fridge for an hour. Plus, it made way too much.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Perhaps this isn't a good one to make for a show? (We are also doing the mini-cheeseburgers....)

Thanks so much!

Angie

Mar 17, 2009
  2. raebates

raebates Legend Member Staff Member

It doesn't get stiff. Ganache is closer to a glaze.

Mar 17, 2009
  3. JAE

JAE Legacy Member

Welcome! I've had and heard of trouble with the ganache, too. If possible stick with one recipe until your comfortable. BUT the ganache tastes great even if a little runny. I've never made the mini cheeseburgers.

Mar 17, 2009
  4. AnnieBee

AnnieBee Veteran Member Gold Member

Mine always gets thick, even at room temperature... I usually use the EAD to pipe it, and if it is too cold it is not possible because it is way too stiff... Is it really runny, or were you just expecting it too be very stiff? You should be able to spoon a dollop on each cup and it will keep its shape. Oh, and I've never whipped it...

I have made this ALOT (not usually at shows though) and never had a problem... It does take a while to long time to cool though... I would leave it longer and see if it is a time issue, otherwise, next time add a little bit more of the chocolate chips...