• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

What Are Essential Tips for a First-Time Stir Fry Maker?

S
sfdavis918
I am planning on making Stir Fry for dinner tonight, but I have never done it before. I have meat that says it's specifically for stir fry, and frozen veggies too. Do I need any pointers? Do I need to add anything else to it, like seasonings?

By the way, thanks for all the help you guys have given me in the past few days about the dinners I'm making. We are really trying not to eat out (we do it ALOT!) and haven't been out for almost a week now! That is really saying something for us! So a big fat THANKS to everyone! (Especially to BeckyD for the scallop recipe, DH is still talking about it!):D

I made the beef and broccoli stir fry out of the Main Dishes cookbook. You marinate the meat slices in soy sauce, oil and cornstarch for 15 minutes. Then you cook it on med high heat in two batches. Each batch you add ginger root, garlic and red pepper flakes. The high heat will help sear the meat and cook it really fast, especially if it's cut really thin. Then you cook the veggies - by the way each batch of meat and veggies need a little oil in the pan! Veggies just until crisp then add some beef broth and let simmer then add the meat back in and let simmer for a second. It's really good!

There are two tricks to stir frying well.

1. Make sure that everything you are going to stir fry is ready to go, and right at hand. You don't have time for a lot of fooling around.
  2. Keep stirring. Things at the bottom tend to get overdone if you don't keep stiring.

I love stir frying! As for seasonings, there's really nothing special, other than what you would normally use.

If your recipe calls for corn starch mixed with water to thicken the sauce, see point 1 above - have it ready to go.