• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Sales Tax on Fundraisers for Tax Exempt Agencies

In summary, the sales tax rate for fundraisers for tax exempt agencies varies by location. Not all fundraisers for tax exempt agencies are exempt from sales tax, so it is best to consult with your local tax authority. To obtain a tax exemption certificate, contact the tax exempt agency you are fundraising for. In most cases, sales tax does not need to be collected from attendees, but it may be required for certain taxable items. Reporting sales tax may also be necessary depending on the items being sold and the exemption status of the event. It is important to consult with your local tax authority for specific reporting requirements.
maryskitchen
Gold Member
I am a new consultant and doing my first fundraiser. It is for my mother's church. Do church groups and other tax exempt agencies pay sales tax? If not, what do I need to do to make sure the company does not charge them?

Sales tax laws vary from state to state. The best thing to do is contact your state sales tax department. You can tell them what you are doing and where. If it is tax exempt, they will give you the information that is needed.

Or call HO. I would expect the financial department to know how to handle it for this specific thing. I would bet it would confuse the state govt dept.

The customers are not tax exempt, only the organization. The chairperson's 60% item doesn't fall under the organization's tax exempt status either. PC does not withhold taxes from the fundraiser's check. So under a normal fundraiser, the tax exempt status of the organization is not an issue for you.The only way that the tax exempt status would apply is if the organization itself is making a purchase from PC. If that's the case, contact PC for guidance.