• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Personal - I Finally Am Getting Some Good News!

In summary, John found a great solution to the problem of not being hired due to not having degrees or certifications.
pampered1224
Silver Member
As many of you know I have been out of work since last November! Well, I finally got some info from some of the places I have been applying to. It turns out that right now the average computer job hire is being controlled by HR departments. HR is bent on getting computer people with Associate Degrees and all sorts of certifications. All of which I do not have. I have 23 years of experience but no degrees or certifications. Well, I checked out our states website for schools so I could get my certifications as I can not afford an Associate Degree. I found one about 10 minutes from my home! And the cost is under the $7000 aide limit our state sets!So I can get it paid for even! I also got an appointment with the Job Center person who helps us get that aide! So the aide is still there! I am going back to school and I also found out from the school that as soon as I get my A+ Certification, which should be be the end of the year, means I will increase my chances of being hired by 70%! So my suggestion to anyone looking for work, ASK any one who does not hire you why they did not hire you! It is something we are not told to do but I saw something on Good Morning America that said now more than ever, you need to find out why you did not get a job. This way you can act on it. I did and it is a great feeling to know what I need to do and not just keep guessing!

So happy to hear good news, John!