• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Personal: Need Some Job Advice...

In summary, the speaker is facing a dilemma between renewing their contract job or potentially taking a new job offer. They are hesitant to risk their current job for a new opportunity and are seeking advice on how to handle the situation. Some suggestions include negotiating with the new company for a later start date or renewing the contract and continuing to pursue the new job. The speaker is advised to carefully review their contract and consider the potential consequences of breaking it.
pampered1224
Silver Member
You all have helped me through some tough times. This one is not so tough but I am wondering if you think this is ethical.
1) I have a job. I work as an IT contractor at a big company. Means no benefits and poor pay it means no raises in the near future.
2) One of my ex-bosses from the company that closed, got a job with a company in their IT department.
3) He asked for my resume last Christmas as they have an opening the end of March that he really wants me to fill. He has pull!
4) The contract company asked me to extend my contract to the end of July. That was a week ago Monday.
5) I asked for a raise but it is a no go. I told them I needed to think on it on Friday. They asked again yesterday and I put them off again.
6) The new place supposedly just posted the job for Sunday's paper and asked if I could wait, my friends boss in fact, to answer the other company.
7) The old company is starting already to pressure me for an answer but the new place has not asked me in for an interview yet.
So here is my dilemma. I can't not have a job. If I don't answer the one company, I may lose that job at the end of this month.