• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Maximizing Your Event's Success: Tips for Invitations, Promotion, and Hosting

I would also suggest doing a multi-vendor thing. This may attract more people if different companies are there and those consultants should be expected to invite THEIR customers.
pcrae
I have booked a room at the local civic center for a 2008 kickoff show (also to be sure and get a show in for my tablecloth!). I am fairly new to the business and feel that I have exhausted my contact list. My goal is to find neutral ground to be able to invite as many people as I can find in hopes of getting my calendar filled for the first few months of 2008. What suggestions do y'all have for invitations, getting the word out, and also ways to host this event? Has anyone ever done an "open house" event not actually at their house?

It's been a while since I've done an open house like that for my customers. Some of the things we (I last did a joint HWC event with a cluster mate and our Director) did were:
- have things scheduled and put the schedule on the invitation. Like, "Recipe demo at 1:00, knife tips at 2:00." It gives people a real reason to come.
- use incentives to raise attendance. We used tickets and gave people tickets for RSVP, bringing a friend, placing an order, bringing an outside order, etc. Then we drew for a product prize (extra product that someone had in their basement).
- use the neutral location as a plus. Indicate on the invitation that "We'll be at the XXX community center, so there's plenty of room for you to bring friends and family!"