• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Help! I'm New to Grilling Paninis - Experts Needed!

When using the press, you can either heat it up on the stove or use a burner on the press itself. If you're worried about the nonstick coating, spritz it with a little oil. The oil will start to smoke by the time the pan is hot enough to ruin the nonstick (or cause it to outgas the dangerous fumes).
ChefPaulaB
Okay, so I received my grill pan and press and am so excited to use it and make some Paninis and I just look at it and have no idea what to do! My husband keeps asking me all these questions and I don't know. Now, granted I haven't completely went through the website or the card that came with it (have been sick and didn't feel like reading) but I thought I'd come straight to the experts... Please tell me exactly how to do this... remember I need details! Do you have to heat the press up and if so how? That's the main question I guess, but I just need details.. TIA!!

You don't need to heat the press up, but I do when I use it (it helps the panini cook through just a little faster). I set the press in the pan while the pan is pre-heating. But if you want it to get really hot and not worry about scratching the pan, set the press on it's own burner (just remember to use a pot holder to move it). When making panini, I usually preheat the pan and press on Med-High while I assemble the sandwiches. Then I place them in the pan, top with the press, and wait. I turn them over when they're deep golden brown on the first side and cook the second side. That one takes less time. You can also use the press on the Double Burner Griddle or Square Griddle for sandwiches or bacon.