• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Um: Grating Soft Cheeses Question

:)The DCG again, but nuke the cheese for 7 seconds before grating. The oils will come out and coat the drum. As for the balling, I think it is because it is a softer cheese. Try freezing the cheese for about 15 minutes before shredding.Ann & Kate,Thanks for the tips! I'll try freezing the cheese for 15 minutes and see if that solves the problem.
kam
Staff member
In the past I have tried (and hated) the deluxe cheese grater for grating cheddar cheese.

Being a new consultant I was getting a little nervous on demo-ing recipes with mozz or cheddar cheeses - just on the fact that I would have to grate the cheese with the Deluxe Cheese Grater.

Then I got my kit and I saw that the UM could be used to grate the soft cheeses! Well, I LOVE using it for that! It works wonderfully - with the exception of one tiny thing.

Does anyone else have a problem with the end of the cheese "balling" up and not grating, or slipping out from under the holder? It seems that I am not using all the cheese.

If a recipe calls for 8oz and I cut the block up into small pieces to use on the UM, then after EACH piece, I have leftover that I am not using. At home, I have no problem using a knife to chop the remainder into smaller pieces, but I don't want to do this in front of anyone.

Any ideas for demos? Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
Kathleen

I am afraid of the UM! I dont want to use it, but this week I will be using it. I am testing it out this week!

Sorry no helpful hints from me.