• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Staying Motivated in PC: The Realities of Direct Sales

In summary, Christy is having second thoughts about her decision to become a consultant for PC. She has signed up for 3 shows this month, but is not feeling motivated and is wondering if she should continue.
Christy217
I hope I am not going to burst anyone's bubble here. I am having second thoughts at PC. I don't know if I set myself up for failure, or not. I have a lot of their products so I know a lot about them. I had a show two years ago that did 1400 in sales as a host and then one recently that did 700 for a catalog. I then decided to give it a try a second time around. So I am now a consultant.
I went to a fair, which was a county away, and signed up for it without thinking, hey the people that are going to be coming to the fair, are from that county, which is about an hour or so away. It was an okay turn out, I wasn't as nervous or shy as I thought I would be, actually it ended up better than I thought in terms of approaching the public.
I am not feeling very motivated, I listened to Belinda Ellsworth's speech about creative bookings, etc., I've put together my host packets and so far, with getting my website started, ordering some cheap business cards off of vistaprints.com and having the super starter kits and supplies and paying for th fair entries, I've almost spent over 200 bucks. I know you might think I am crazy, but I am now realizing how much time PC actually does take.
Yes, you are doing the shows at your leisure, but coaching the hot, checking up on the host, following leads, etc., have to be done in a timely fashion, etc., I am just starting to think that this isn't for me.