• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Newbie Kitchen Show Tips: How to Succeed as a New Consultant in Direct Sales

In summary, the author is looking for advice on how to start a business. They are new to the industry and are concerned about the reception they will receive. They have been laid off and have been doing catty shows to make ends meet. They are concerned about their prospects for success and are considering hosting their own grand opening or doing some afternoon shows to attract a different audience.
jj16
Gold Member
I need some advice. I'm very new to this but really want to make it work. My previous job was mostly with men who now laugh at me when I tell them what I'm doing on the side. I'm currently laid off. My problem is this. I don't know very many people but have been doing two catty shows that the closing date had to be postponed because they don't have the orders. I'm going to have my 1st kitchen show this Wednesday(the 23rd will be my 30 day mark - not very good odds). I'm really not looking forward to it because I went to her house and her house smells like cat crap. How do I get through this? Does this happen often? I'm really discouraged. I do wear the logo wear and take my catty tote everywhere I go but I'm not getting much response. I've thought about hosting my own grand opening but my kitchen and living room are soooo tiny. I was also wondering if I wanted to do some afternoon shows what would be a good way to attract that crowd. My goal is to do 2 shows a day 4 days a week and 2 catalog shows a week. I know I won't stay with it if I have a lot of idle time. I'm single and I used to work 13-14 hour days. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited: