• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Help! Peanutty Brownie Pizza Question

In summary, parchment paper is necessary when cooking on a stone because it prevents the brownie from spilling off and onto the oven floor.
4kids4me
I am doing this at my (FIRST) show this weekend. I practiced yesterday. It calls for covering the stone with parchment paper first. WHY??

I used wax paper instead of parchment paper. (Did I mention I'm new to PC AND to cooking?) Well, the wax paper and the brownies became one, if ykwim. I had to scrape hte brownie and toppings off, and of course I kept it and now I"m nibbling away at it. But I would've been mortified if that'd happened at the show!

so my question is, do I need to invest in parchment paper, or can I do the brownie on the stone without it????

TIA!

Yes you need parchment. If you cook a brownie pizza on a stone without the parchment paper the brownie will spill off of the stone and onto the bottom of the oven!!! And of course, with parchment paper the brownie won't stick like it did to the wax paper.

Ah, thank you so much for clarifying that for me. Guess I'm off to pick up parchment paper! I even asked around to my baking friends about the difference btw wax paper and parchment paper. Grrrr. Oh well, live and learn!

Wax paper is paper with wax. Parchment is paper with silicone. Wax will melt, and stick to the food (As you discovered). Silicone is heat safe above the point where paper will ignite (451F).

Also, if there are loose edges of wax paper that aren't covered by batter, they could and start a fire.

I made that for a show. I didn't have time to order it from PC so I got some from Wal mart. PC's is cheaper and you get more for your money, but like I said I was short on time. Good luck!