• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Are You Ready to Think on Your Feet?

Yes, it was Pat Pearson. She said that the most important thing is to keep the conversation moving forward.
raebates
Staff member
Several days ago someone asked for help on how to respond when someone asks about their PC logo-wear. A lot of great advice was offered.

Today I was reading through my August Real Simple magazine, when I came across an article titled how to think on your feet. The author had gone to an improv school to find out how to handle those "dead air" moments.

The first of three techniques was Yes . . . and. You say yes, then expand it with an and that often leads to a question. Here's how I can see it working for PC.

Ooh, Pampered Chef--do you sell it?

Yes, I'm a consultant, and I love my job! Are you a fan of the products?

Yeah, I don't have much, but I love the stoneware.

Oh, yes, the stoneware's amazing, and it's even better when you can get it free. Have you ever hosted a party?

You can see where I'm going with this. The second technique was to go with your gut. Don't be too concerned about the perfect thing to say. The first thing that comes to mind is probably best. (Well, if you're like me and the first thing you think of is often some snarky, sarcastic come-back, you might want to go with the second thing that comes to mind. :rolleyes:) The most important thing is to keep the conversation moving forward.

I would encourage you to pick up a copy of the magazine and check out the article by Gail Blanke. I'll be putting this technique to good use tomorrow at The Furry Guy's company picnic. I'll of course be decked out in PC gear, so I expect lots of questions and comments.

raebates said: