• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Tax Tips for New Pampered Chef Consultants

In summary, people are deducting their cable bills, cooking magazines, and parts of their mortgage. People are also keeping receipts for things like office supplies and food.
ChefMoore
Again, as this has been my first year as a consultant I'm trying to learn more about preparing to file my taxes.

I've read on some of the other threads that people are deducting thier cable bills (because of the food network) and cooking magazines.

Since I'm new to the whole filing my own taxes thing in general (I'm 22 and was a dependent under my parents while I was in school and then got married right after graduation.) I'm just learning about filing taxes.

How do you know what things you can deduct because of being a Pampered Chef Consultant?

Even if I wasn't keeping track of the right things to use them for filing my taxes for 2007, I would like to know what all I should keep track of so I can be prepared for 2008.

Any advice you have would be greatly appreciated. Even if it seems like it's basic, because I'm just starting out.

Thanks!

There is some tax info on Consutlant's Corner, with the other financial stuff. I think that some of it is a document from the IRS that has deduction guidelines. If it isn't, then you can go to irs.gov and get info.

My policy has always been to err on the side of caution. Someone in my cluster deducts her cable bill, but I can't prove that I watch Food Network, so I don't bother. The easy stuff is: anything on supply order form, PWS fees, CS registration, mileage to shows and meetings, office supplies, consultant insurance (the $2 HO takes out each month), conference registration, conference hotel, conference transportation, food for shows, and products you purchase to demonstrate.