• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Grocery Deductions for Pampered Chef Consultants | Record Keeping & Tax Tips

In summary, it is possible to deduct the cost of food used for practice recipes as a business expense for Pampered Chef consultants. It is important to keep records and consult with an accountant for the exact percentage of deduction and which line item it falls under. Keep up the good work as a new consultant!
floccies
I've seen a couple of threads saying that the food for practice recipes are tax deductible. How do you keep the records? Is this really true? Have those of you using accountants had them OK this as a deduction? What line does it go under? Is food a 100% deduction for Pampered Chef or a 50% deduction?

I'm a new consultant. January is my SS#1 month. I've been practicing recipes (not talking out loud, just tasting and trying out the tools).

You need to keep your reciepts for pampered chef food seperate and preferably label the receipt with what it was for (show on x date, practicing recipe x). Keep the receipts in an envelope so its easy to do the deductions at tax time. I'm not sure what line item this goes in as I'm new and have not done business tax returns before.

You can set up a category in the expenses area of Pampered Partner and track them there (that way you don't have a huge stack to enter at the end of the year - but keep the actual receipts in an envelope!). Then when you fill out your Schedule C, you'll have things already added together to enter.

You can try a recipe twice and deduct the total cost of it. If you buy the ingredients for a show that is totally deductable as well - it is a cost of holding the show just like the receipts or catalogs.