• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

New to Direct Sales? Questions About 1099s Answered

In summary, a 1099 form is a tax form used to report income from sources other than an employer, and it is necessary for direct sales consultants to report their income to the IRS. The form can be obtained from the company you are working with, and it is important to pay taxes on your direct sales income as it is considered self-employment income. Deductions can be made for business expenses, but it is important to keep detailed records and consult a tax professional. If you do not receive a 1099 form from the company, you are still responsible for reporting your income using your own records.
melaniepc
since I am new to direct sales, I have a question. I will get a 1099 in January right? Do you have to sell so much in direct sales to have to file the 1099 or is it any amount you make?

Re: 1099You will get the 1099 as long as you earned at least $600 in comission/free products
(via promotions, not shows). hth!

Re: 1099alright thanks.

Related to New to Direct Sales? Questions About 1099s Answered

1. What is a 1099 form and why do I need one?

A 1099 form is a tax form used to report income received from sources other than an employer. As a direct sales consultant, you will likely receive income from your sales and commissions, which must be reported to the IRS. This is why you need a 1099 form.

2. How do I obtain a 1099 form?

You can obtain a 1099 form from the company you are working with. They are responsible for reporting your income to the IRS and should provide you with a 1099 form at the end of the year. If you do not receive one, you can contact the company to request it.

3. Do I need to pay taxes on my direct sales income?