• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Cooking with Ginger Root: Mandarin Pasta Salad

In summary, Diane suggests using a garlic press, grater, or cheese grater to grate gingerroot, and suggests that you freeze the gingerroot for future use. She also suggests lightening the salad by using less fat and calories, fresh squeezed oranges, and less oil.
lacychef
Okay, so everyone (especially Soonerchef) has raved about the Mandarin Pasta Salad. I want to offer it for my July shows, but...I've never used ginger root before. Any tips?
BTW, which cookbook was this in? Just curious, this site is the 1st place I've heard of it....thanks:D

I've never used it either, but I think I remember reading that you just cut the outside off and then grind the inside in your microplane grater or cheese grater.

lacychef said:
Okay, so everyone (especially Soonerchef) has raved about the Mandarin Pasta Salad. I want to offer it for my July shows, but...I've never used ginger root before. Any tips?
BTW, which cookbook was this in? Just curious, this site is the 1st place I've heard of it....thanks:D

https://www.pamperedchef.com/images/cc/us/pdf/cel04_mandarin_pasta_recipe.pdf

Go there & you will see it!:D. Gingerroot is a brown weird looking spice. It is very easy to find, just peel it & chop it up. Or if you want, go to the spices & buy a jar of ground Ginger for the ammount you need NO ONE will know the difference. ( I'm assuming you are gonna make the dressing in advance) Any other questions let me know.

Ginger:cool:

Ginger root is sold in hands. . .you only need a finger, so break off a piece. :) Peel off the outside and then slice off a piece and press it in your Garlic Press.

With the leftovers, peel the entire piece, cut into 1" sections and throw in your freezer to use later.

I love fresh gingerroot!!