• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Can I Sell Insurance and Pampered Chef at the Same Time?

In the past, I have done outside sales for my own company (not as part of my job), and never had a problem. I think it depends on the company and their policies.
pckelly
I just started working a full time job with Liberty National Life Insurance Company. Been training for 3 weeks and paid for my temporary license. Well today my manager tells me I can't do Pampered Chef at the same time I am with them. It came up for some reason during training today, I forgot why. He said something about "if I work for liberty national as an agent, I am devoting myself to a full time position with them and can not have another job". I told him PC was a home business, and I decide when I do my business. I told him in my interview I did PC, and he said he guessed he just didn't understand what it was, thought it was a job I was working and assumed I would stop once I got hired there. Does that sound right? Does anyone else sell insurance as a full time job??

I am a registered rep with the NASD and I work for a mutual fund company. In the past I have worked for NASD wirehouses and independent broker/dealers, and I have always gotten compliance permission to conduct an "outside business." I've always been upfront about it and disclose the nature of the business and the time/place that business is conducted, which is out of the office on my own time. Most of the time, they are happy to hear I have sales experience in another arena. Perhaps you can put a spin on that to encourage them to approve your outside business.

Unless your company has a specific policy on ANY outside business... like if you wanted to work retail for the holidays or something like that....