• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Ready to Learn How to Can and Freeze Fruits & Vegetables?

In summary, the author shared some tips for canning and freezing fruits and vegetables. She recommended using mix 'n chop, a classic batter bowl, and a salad & berry spinner. She also recommended using a clock timer and pot holders.
pattikake
I have been holding monthly cooking classes in my kitchen for the past 4 months, and yesterday's class was Canning & Freezing Fruits & Vegetables.

I was surprised at the number of products used for this particular class, so thought I would share some tips with you.

Mix 'n Chop - great for mashing up berries when making jam.
Classic Batter Bowl - perfect for holding pre-measured sugar for jam.
Prep Bowl - use to mix SureJell & Sugar for jam.
Salad & Berry Spinner - Use this for berries, and also when blanching vegetables like broccoli, this works wonders spinning it dry!
Forged Cutlery - for cutting up veggies like green peppers prior to freezing.
Clock Timer - obviously!
Cooling Rack - to display your canned veggies and jams!
Pot holders -
Mini spatula - use to get the air out of canning jars when filling with vegetables and hot liquid.
Measuring cups and spoons -

Good points to make with guests during these summer food processing months.

Patti

LOL, I used the mix & masher to do the berries the last time I made jam. :)Thanks for sharing this!

I use the stainless steel bowls for jam making. The strainer to strain berry seeds out. The cookware to boil the water for jars. The ss sauce pans for pickle brine. Just to add my two cents! LOL!

Be careful using the mini serving spatula to release air bubbles. They say you want to avoid using metal in the jars. The 'pinging' of th metal to glass can weaken the jar and cause them to crack during processing.