• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Making Corned Beef for Beginners: Jane's Questions Answered!

microwave and it came out really tough. It was yucky.I made my corned beef in the...microwave and it came out really tough. It was yucky.
janezapchef
Gold Member
Has anyone tried this? Would it work in the microwave? I am a complete novice at the corned beef thing -- I just buy it already done, heated and everything, never made it. So, the more details the better here! I like to offer the Reuben Ring close to St. Patrick's Day, but I still want to feature the DCB.
Thanks,
Jane :)

holding for an answer.....

I personally would not cook corn beef in the micro. :yuck: It would come out tough. Corn beef needs to cook for several hours.

So does pretty much everything you make in the dcb in the microwave though, that's why I'm wondering about it.

corned beef (and say...a pork roast or pot roast) are items that benefit from a "low and slow" type of cooking...250 to 300 degrees all day long to break down the tough portions and allow the entire thing to get fall apart tender. I don't think that you are gonna get that in our DCB in the microwave. I would do it in the DCB in a low oven.

(Chicken, pork tenderloin, etc.) all cook relatively quickly in comparison, so I think that's why they lend themselves well to microwave cooking and the stone helps to hold in the moisture so they don't get tough.

For recipes on a low and slow corned beef, check out this website: All recipes – complete resource for recipes and cooking tips It's my "go to" site for recipes...just look for a recipe with LOTS of positive reviews!

Thanks for the input!

I guess I was just thinking it might work because I've seen recipes on here for pot roast done in the DCB in the microwave.