• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Rant English Grammar Basics: Why 2nd Grade Skills Matter

In summary, I think that grammar is important and it bothers me when people butcher the english language.
lesliec
I know no one is perfect, and I am a bit of a grammar nut (I used to be a teacher), but it really bothers me when people repeatedly butcher the english language. No, I'm not talking about slang, I'm not referring to the occasional missing comma, or misspelling of a tough word......

to, two, too
their, there, they're
sell, sells, sale, sales

I could go on, but those are the few that pop into my mind immediately. They are SECOND GRADE SKILLS!!!!!! Not something you might have missed on Senior Skip Day, but 2nd grade skills!!! When I taught elementary school, my kids would edit our local paper (not saying much, it was a small town). I really can't believe that people can actually graduate from highschool without having these skills. Even worse, I know people with college degrees (from well respected universities) that struggle with these issues.

I know I'm not the only one who wants to go edit blogs, facebook posts, message board threads, but I hold back. I lose all respect for the person that writes these things, and usually can't even read them to get the message of what they are talking about.

Have we as a society really accepted these things? Are we really saying it is ok to publicly post your ignorance? Ok, I'll get off my soapbox.

Re: Grammar.....No, you're not the only one. As a matter of fact, I occasionally rant about this on my own blog. Yes, anyone can make an occasional error. Routine grammar butchery is another matter altogether.

Re: Grammar.....Actually, it only bothers me when it's my hubby's FB status. That drives me crazy.:blushing: