• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

What Are the Legal Ways to Advertise a Small Business?

In summary, the conversation discusses the dos and don'ts of advertising for a new business, including options such as purchasing ads on a PC website, using billboards and door flyers, and leaving flyers in newspaper boxes. It also mentions the importance of not violating any federal laws, such as putting flyers in mailboxes. The conversation also shares personal experiences with advertising in local papers and offers suggestions for effective advertising techniques, such as using logo wear and catalog totes. The conversation ends with a cautionary tale about unintentionally violating advertising rules due to online versions of newspapers.
emiscookin
Hey everyone. As you all know I am new to the business and REALLY need to expand it!!

What are the things that I am allowed to do to advertise my business?

I understand I can't post on Craigslist or have a fan/group page on Facebook correct? I also understand that I can't put flyers in people's mailboxes because it's illegal. Someone mentioned putting them in the newspaper holder next to the mailbox, but could I get in trouble for that too??

Can I advertise in the newspaper?

Would love to hear from you and any clever ideas you have that have worked. Thanks! :)