When can you wash your hair after a perm or color???

Discussion in 'Chef's Lounge' started by Lisa/ChefBear, Jul 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lisa/ChefBear

Lisa/ChefBear Gold Member

Hi all,
    My dd got her hair permed last night and we know Gracie told us when she could wash hair (sooner than I remembered) and now can't remember if she can wash it today.

Also, I had my haired colored for first time ever and wanted to wash it today, but wasnt' sure if I could, anyone??

Thanks,

Lisa

2. babywings76

babywings76 Gold Member

It's been a while since I worked as a shampoo girl in a salon, so things might be different now...But it used to be that you don't shampoo your hair after a perm for 2 days. When perms are done, they just rinse off the solution and then use conditioner on it. But you shouldn't wash it for the 2 days. If you had it colored, it's okay to wash it the next day. They shampoo it 2 times after the color is done processing, and it's fine. But I recommend you use a shampoo suited for color treated hair.

3. byrd1956

byrd1956 Gold Member

I've actually washed my hair the same day as having it colored. My hair dresser told me after 3 washings the color will have a softer look, so I guess it fades some, but I've never seen color come off in the tub. I do use shampoo for color treated hair.

4. chefcaroline

chefcaroline Gold Member

I have always washed my hair the next day after either a perm or getting it colored. I wasn't ever told any different, and my hair needs washing before going to work every day. I haven't ever had any problems with doing that.

5. Lisa/ChefBear

I do have the shampoo for color treated hair, but couldn't remember what Gracie told me and I didn't want to mess it up.

Lisa

6. Chefgirl2

Chefgirl2 Gold Member