• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Venting Frustrations of Being a New Consultant in a Small Town

In summary, the author feels discouraged and unsuccessful in their sales efforts. They suggest that making personal connections and being involved in community activities is key to success in this business.
melissalough
I have to vent and I don't know where else to go. I am a new consultant and I live in a small town 18,000. There is one other PC (my recruiter) who lives here. Here sales are outstanding, amazing really. She averages $5,000/mo in sales and she just signed on last december. I was so pumped when I signed on because I saw her success and thought things would be as great for me. Well, they are not. As a matter of fact they are so discouraging.
I've taken so many ideas from this site and have tried to implement them. One of them was to do a kids' cooking workshop here at my home. I got such great feedback and many said that it was a great idea. Even my recruiter was impressed. I posted an ad in the paper ($110) and flyered several neighborhoods. I've scheduled it for August 2,3 & 4. I've gotten just TWO girls signed up!
What am I doing wrong in this business? Do you think the area can be too smothered?

You have to make personal connections with people. How many flyers that are put on your door do you respond to? How many emails from other direct sales or other sales companies do you respond to? Get on the phone or out and about and talk to people!Have you observed your recruiter's show since you became a consultant? If not, do it! It is amazing what you miss when you are just having fun! And, trust me, it is very hard to get a saturated market. My best seller lives in the same subdivision as I do and we do fine!