• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Truffle Brownie Cup Question (Ganache Isn't Right!)

In summary, the new consultant is having her first cooking show and is making Truffle Brownie cups. However, she is having trouble with the ganache filling being too runny and making too much. Some suggestions are to stick with one recipe until comfortable, leave the ganache to cool longer, use less cream, and make the brownies beforehand. The mini-cheeseburgers are highly recommended for the show.
angiemann73
Hi everyone! I am a new consultant who is about to have her very first cooking show this week (had 4 catalog shows so far). My host has chosen the Truffle Brownie cups and I made them tonight (to test them).

My problem was with the ganache filling. I followed the recipe exactly and I had to whip the HECK out of the stuff to get it even remotely "stiff" - and that was after leaving it in the freezer/fridge for an hour. Plus, it made way too much.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Perhaps this isn't a good one to make for a show? (We are also doing the mini-cheeseburgers....)

Thanks so much!

Angie

It doesn't get stiff. Ganache is closer to a glaze.

Welcome! I've had and heard of trouble with the ganache, too. If possible stick with one recipe until your comfortable. BUT the ganache tastes great even if a little runny. I've never made the mini cheeseburgers.

Mine always gets thick, even at room temperature... I usually use the EAD to pipe it, and if it is too cold it is not possible because it is way too stiff... Is it really runny, or were you just expecting it too be very stiff? You should be able to spoon a dollop on each cup and it will keep its shape. Oh, and I've never whipped it...