• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Navigating a Tricky Situation with Bookings: The Consultant's Dilemma

In summary, the conversation revolves around a situation where the speaker, now a consultant, was supposed to do a show for someone they used to go to church with, but the date got moved and now the director wants the host to do the show instead. The speaker feels uncomfortable and unsure about the whole situation and is seeking advice on how to approach it. Suggestions are given to have the director announce that the speaker is a new consultant and will be considered for bookings, and to have the speaker help with the show.
IAmChefJ
This is a wierd one... and I'm waffling on it. You guys have such great advice, I thought I'd get some outside opinions.

One of the guests at MY show, before I was a consultant, booked an early May show with my director, who recruited me. The date wound up getting moved, to today, and now I am a consultant. When the date got moved, I sent her an email (with my director's blessing) reminding her I'd officially be a consultant, and would love to do her show, so I can do my early shows with friends. (It would have been my 2nd show.)

I didn't hear back from her, so I didn't push it, and my director said she'd called her and basically said, we had so much fun with you at Joyce's show, we'd prefer you did it. She never said ANYTHING to me.

I did however get invited to the show. And my director says I can have any bookings that come off it.

I just feel wierd about the whole thing. I don't think there's any malice there, but I do wish she'd just been straight with me about it. This is a lady I used to go to church with, and I'll know everyone at the party, because they're from my old church.