• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Questions About Doing Business Taxes for the First Time

In summary, most people do their taxes through an accountant, H&R Block type business, or using software like Turbo Tax. I have been using Turbo Tax for several years for my personal taxes, so I thought I would just use the home & business version. I will need to purchase the software in January in order to claim it as a deduction on my 2009 taxes. All tax W2s and 1099s are supposed to be postmarked by January 31st, but I don
cookingwithdot
Gold Member
Hi everyone,
This is my first year, so the first time I will be doing business taxes. I have some questions. First off, how do most of you do your taxes? Through an accountant? H&R Block type business? Or do it yourself tax software like TurboTax? I have been using TurboTax for several years for my personal taxes, so I thought I would just use the home & business version. Have any of you done this? I assume the software purchase will be something I can write off next year. Also, will our tax info be available by Jan 31? As far as writing off computer, phone & cell phone usage and even car usage, how do you figure out %?

Thanks!!

We use Turbo Tax...I think just the premiere - but that's my DH's area of the finances. I handle the day-to-day. If you purchase your software in 2009, you can claim it as a deduction on your 2009 taxes. if you purchase it in 2010- then it would be for next year.And as far as I know and remember, all tax W2s and 1099s are supposed to be postmarked by Jan 31st...but don't quote me on that. I know that's the case for W2s but can't remember for 1099's - which is what we get from PC.