1. Pampered Chef relies on relationships and communication. How are you managing your business in the wake of Coronavirus and social distancing? Discuss here
    Dismiss Notice

Pampered Chef: 2009 Taxes

1. cookingwithdot

cookingwithdot Advanced Member Gold Member

Hi everyone,
    This is my first year, so the first time I will be doing business taxes. I have some questions. First off, how do most of you do your taxes? Through an accountant? H&R Block type business? Or do it yourself tax software like TurboTax? I have been using TurboTax for several years for my personal taxes, so I thought I would just use the home & business version. Have any of you done this? I assume the software purchase will be something I can write off next year. Also, will our tax info be available by Jan 31? As far as writing off computer, phone & cell phone usage and even car usage, how do you figure out %?

Thanks!!

2. esavvymom

esavvymom Legend Member Staff Member

We use Turbo Tax...I think just the premiere - but that's my DH's area of the finances. I handle the day-to-day. If you purchase your software in 2009, you can claim it as a deduction on your 2009 taxes. if you purchase it in 2010- then it would be for next year.

And as far as I know and remember, all tax W2s and 1099s are supposed to be postmarked by Jan 31st...but don't quote me on that. I know that's the case for W2s but can't remember for 1099's - which is what we get from PC.
    For my car- I count mileage. You can't count gas and car payments, etc AND mileage- I think it's either/or. I do the mileage. P3 has a section for Expenses that you can easily enter all of that in. HOPEFULLY you've been doing it all along, but if not, go back through your calendar and at the very least, enter the mileage for your shows and events. (I calculate mileage from my address to the hosts via Mapquest or Google Maps- if I didn't track it on my odometer- which I rarely remember to do).