• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Why should I place food at the edge of the microwave turntable?

In summary, this man boiled water in the microwave and it blew up in his face. He may have lost partial sight in his left eye.
yummy4tummy
Don't know if this is true or not as I am not a scientist nor a microwave expert but I got this little tidbit of info that I would pass on to you.

Hmmm, learn something new everyday!
Be sure to put the rice cooker at the edge of the turntable, NOT in the center. The microwaves cannot pass through the spider bracket that holds and turns the turntable tray. They just bounce off it, which causes the food above it to remain uncooked. Whether cooking cakes, or rice, or whatever -- items in the microwave should always be placed at the perimeter of the turntable so they travel through the bouncing microwaves as they revolve through the cooking space.

Valky

I don't know how valid that argument is scientifically.

But there is another argument for putting your items at the edge of the turntable--

Turntables help reduce the problems with "hot spots" in micrawave ovens, those places in the oven that receive more energy and heat up quicker than other places. Putting your food on the edge of the turntable moves it more because it's moving in a circle rather than just spinning in one place.

Thanks for the info. This makes sense! The chicken in the microwave was very yummy. I made it last night. My family said it was the best chicken they had ever had!

Again, not sure how true this is...but I got this in an email: A 26-year old man decided to have a cup of coffee. He took a cup of
water and put it in the microwave to heat it up (something that he had done
numerous times before). I am not sure how long he set the timer for, but he