• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Has anyone successfully made a cake in a rice cooker? Advice needed!

C
ChefSuz
OK, this is my first time on this site so I'm not really sure if I'm posting this in the right spot, but I figure if I'm not someone will let me know.

I've heard about making a cake in the rice cooker, but it doesn't seem like anyone agrees on lid on or off, or time, or how much frosting. If you've made this before can you let me know how it works best? I think this would be perfect to make on Monday right before Fae hits us in Tampa and our power goes out:chef: Suz

Top on Suz - I use 1/2 a can of frosting as well - that is the 8 minute cake right??

Top on~ 2 scoops on frosting~ for 8 minutes is what I do :)

I have made this cake for over 2 years, just about at every show, I use 1/2 a can of frosting, no lid (all it does is bake in to it, so more for me to clean) and 9 minutes. Just don't use the whipped frosting, doesn't seem to turn out right.

It doesn't spill all over the microwave without the lid?

I've actually used the whole can of frosting and everything has worked out fine. Other times the cake had baked into the lid, but no one seems to care. It just depends how full the RCP is. Never tried it w/the lid off...is it as moist as w/the lid on??

I will always make this with the lid on. I have had too many encounters w/ hostess's microwaves where the cake fills to the top or comes out the sides. Everyone's microwave is different and you just never know if it will work or not and I don't want the cake to overflow into someone else's microwave.

I use the lid and only put 3-4 medium scoops of frosting. I guess I will have to try a little more. I cook it for 10 minutes then let it sit for 5min.