• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Consulting Fee for Bounced Check: Seeking Advice

In summary, if you are a consultant and someone pays you with a bounced check, you can charge them a service fee.
Nicky
I have a huge question. I was wondering if as a consultant I can charge someone a serivce fee for a bounced check? It has not happened to me but my director has had it happen to her and we really think that the lady is so far in the hole with her bank account that she can not get out. I was just wondering so if anyone has any input on this it would be great.

My bank charges me $10 for a deposited check not clearing, so I pass the charge along to my customer. No one has balked at that. Most retail stores charge you $25 or more for bouncing a check.

I would like to know too!

I have an NSF check sitting here beside me...(first one in 3.5 years, thank God!) My bank charged me $10, which I for SURE will be having her pay me...but, should we/can we charge anything extra for our time and hassle?

That IS what you are asking about, too, right?

I have done it before. I had a host give me a check that bounced and I made her pay me the bounced check fee on top of the amount that she owed me. You have to recoup your losses, especially when banks charge YOUR account for someone else's bad finance problems!

I talked to my mom, who works at a bank, and she said you can pass any fees directly related to the bounced check on to the customer. ie the bank fee, the amount of the check and any postage fees for notifying the customer. She said she didn't think you could charge a personal fee.

I wish my bank only charged $10! It charges $25 for a returned check. I've only had it happen once & the person sent me a money order for the original amount plus the $25.

pamperedtraci said: