1. Pampered Chef relies on relationships and communication. How are you managing your business in the wake of Coronavirus and social distancing? Discuss here
    Dismiss Notice

Pampered Chef: Worried about taxes

1. ponvn591

ponvn591 Novice Member

Okay so I am worried. Pampered Chef doesn't take taxes out our checks so we gonna have to pay that back at the end of the year. I am just scared that i will owe alot and I'm wondering if i should be putting aside money from each check. I am a college student who doesn't have much money and this is my only income so if i will owe a good bit of money i need to be prepared! Help!

Aug 13, 2009
  2. Sheila

Sheila Legend Member Gold Member

Are you the same one that just asked this same question a couple of days ago? If not, go with the same advice she was given. Put 30%-33% aside in a savings account. If you don't need it for taxes, you have a little savings account for Kit Enhancement Month in April. ;)

Aug 13, 2009
  3. chefann

chefann Legend Member Gold Member

You're also going to have a lot of things that you can deduct, which will reduce the amount that you owe. Mileage, samples, postage, supplies... they all add up. If you're still concerned, then open a separate account and save money in there for the taxes.

Aug 13, 2009
  4. kdangel518

kdangel518 Advanced Member Gold Member

There are so many things that you can deduct, that I doubt you will end up owing $$ at the end of the year unless you are getting lots of bonuses and overrides.

In addition to typical business expenses- mileage, samples, postage, supplies, that chefann mentioned, don't forget the cost of your kit, you can deduct groceries any time you make a PC recipe or practice a PC recipe for a show or bring the ingredients for your host. You can deduct healthcare expenses since you are self-employed and not receiving health insurance benefits through PC. You can deduct part of your phone bill and internet access since you use that for your biz.