• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Can You Work as a Consultant While Receiving Disability Benefits?

I talked to an attorney and they said that because I am PC consultant and I am considered to be in the "computer and technology industry", my income wouldn't be enough to be considered disabled and I would only be eligible for partial benefits.
cookinforyou
Gold Member
I am facing the possibility of long term disability due to a car accident and I was wondering if I will still be able to work as PC consultant if that comes to be.
Does anyone collect disability and still act as a consultant, I was hoping that if nothing else I could do all catalog and pamperd business shows.

You may want to talk to an attorney about that. I don't know the legalities... usually disability is determined based on your occupation prior to the disability. I have friends that are "disabled" but are able to work part-time in other lines of work, but I don't know how it affects their disability payments... Because there are a lot of technicalities, I would highly encourage you to talk to a legal professional. Good luck to you!

I believe there are limits on how much you make.My friend who is on disability due to mental health issues was on a "bridge to work" program. If she stays employed for 9 months at a time, she's "graduating" into the workforce. But since then she's never been able to keep a job for that long. A couple of years she did something seasonal. She's not trying to work the system, it's just that her issues are much worse in the summer than they are in the winter.I do this part-time and doubt that my income would be enough to raise any red flags if I were in your position, but every person is different.

I have previously known a consultant that was wheelchair bound.