• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

When Can You Wash Your Hair After a Perm or Color???

In summary, it's been a while since Lisa worked as a shampoo girl in a salon, so things might be different now. But it's always okay to wash hair the next day after either a perm or getting it colored. Washing hair too soon after a perm can cause you to lose some of the curl.
Lisa/ChefBear
Gold Member
Hi all,
My dd got her hair permed last night and we know Gracie told us when she could wash hair (sooner than I remembered) and now can't remember if she can wash it today.

Also, I had my haired colored for first time ever and wanted to wash it today, but wasnt' sure if I could, anyone??

Thanks,

Lisa

It's been a while since I worked as a shampoo girl in a salon, so things might be different now...But it used to be that you don't shampoo your hair after a perm for 2 days. When perms are done, they just rinse off the solution and then use conditioner on it. But you shouldn't wash it for the 2 days. If you had it colored, it's okay to wash it the next day. They shampoo it 2 times after the color is done processing, and it's fine. But I recommend you use a shampoo suited for color treated hair.

I've actually washed my hair the same day as having it colored. My hair dresser told me after 3 washings the color will have a softer look, so I guess it fades some, but I've never seen color come off in the tub. I do use shampoo for color treated hair.

I have always washed my hair the next day after either a perm or getting it colored. I wasn't ever told any different, and my hair needs washing before going to work every day. I haven't ever had any problems with doing that.

I do have the shampoo for color treated hair, but couldn't remember what Gracie told me and I didn't want to mess it up.

Lisa