• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Wasn't Sure Where to Ask This Question

In summary, the conversation revolves around whether the person can claim the cost of hiring a babysitter as a business expense for their first show as a new consultant for PC. Some comments suggest that they may qualify for a tax credit instead, while others mention declaring it as an itemized deduction or 1099'ing the babysitter. Ultimately, it is recommended to consult with a tax professional for accurate advice.
CAPCnewbie
I'm a new consultant for Pc and just had my very first show on the weekend. I had to pay a babysitter to watch my kids for me since my hubby was working. Due to travel time, I ended up paying her $50 for the day. Does anyone know if I can claim what I paid her as an expense?
If I have to keep getting babysitters to do my business it may not be worth it kwim.

I'm not positive, but I don't think you can. I don't think people that have their kids in day cares get to write it off, but I don't have kids either, so I'm not positive.

Probably one of those "consult your tax advisor" things, but I think you can't use babysitting as a "business expense", but because you are working, you qualify to take the child care tax credit (not sure of the exact term). I do know that you have to be working and pay someone else to care for your children to qualify for that....

I have a hubby who works weekends too. I have really struggled with this but it has taught me to controll my calendar. I striclly limit my weekend shows. You may also get more bang for your buck if you can do 2 shows on 1 day.

When my children were young and I had a different FT job, I was able to declare it as an itemized deduction I believe. Not sure if things have changed though.