1. Pampered Chef relies on relationships and communication. How are you managing your business in the wake of Coronavirus and social distancing? Discuss here
    Dismiss Notice

Pampered Chef: Wasn't sure where to ask this question

1. CAPCnewbie

CAPCnewbie Member

I'm a new consultant for Pc and just had my very first show on the weekend. I had to pay a babysitter to watch my kids for me since my hubby was working. Due to travel time, I ended up paying her $50 for the day. Does anyone know if I can claim what I paid her as an expense?
    If I have to keep getting babysitters to do my business it may not be worth it kwim.

Mar 10, 2009
  2. Symara

Symara Member Gold Member

I'm not positive, but I don't think you can. I don't think people that have their kids in day cares get to write it off, but I don't have kids either, so I'm not positive.

Mar 10, 2009
  3. PampChefJoy

PampChefJoy Veteran Member Gold Member

Probably one of those "consult your tax advisor" things, but I think you can't use babysitting as a "business expense", but because you are working, you qualify to take the child care tax credit (not sure of the exact term). I do know that you have to be working and pay someone else to care for your children to qualify for that....

Mar 10, 2009
  4. etteluap70PC

etteluap70PC Legacy Member Gold Member

I have a hubby who works weekends too. I have really struggled with this but it has taught me to controll my calendar. I striclly limit my weekend shows. You may also get more bang for your buck if you can do 2 shows on 1 day.

Mar 10, 2009
  5. pkd09

pkd09 Future Director Silver Member

When my children were young and I had a different FT job, I was able to declare it as an itemized deduction I believe. Not sure if things have changed though.

Mar 10, 2009
  6. cincychef

cincychef Advanced Member