• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Traveling-To Bring Laptop or Not

In summary, a full-time student is going on an all-girls trip to Orlando and is worried about leaving her laptop in the hotel room all day. She has found that packing her laptop and taking it with her has never been a problem. She also recommends locking it in a suitcase when travelling.
chefbritt
I'm leaving on Monday for Orlando, I'll be spending the week there with my mom and sister for an all-girls trip. Our hotel has free wireless internet, and I'm debating bringing my laptop. I'm a full-time student, and I'm going during the middle of classes, so I have a ton of work to do. I would like to get some of it done in the evenings. However, I'm really nervous about bringing it with me. I don't like the idea of leaving it in the hotel all day with maids and such in and out. I also am paranoid about the effects of all of the security equipment and everything in the airport, even though realistically I know it won't harm it. So do any of you travel with your laptops? Have you ever had any problems? What about leaving it in the hotel? I know I'm probably over thinking this, but my whole life is on this thing, so I'm a little protective. TIA!

I always bring my laptop with me and we travel alot. I carry it on the plane and have never had any problems with it. Also, I have never had a problem leaving it in a hotel room. Even in foreign countries I leave it plugged in on the table. Never had it stolen and never heard of one being stolen. I can understand the paranoia, but I really wouldn't worry.

I would not worry about it either. Hotels keep records of who swipes the key in and out of your room. They can pinpoint everyone who has been in and out of your room (employees).