• Join Chef Success Today! Get support for your Pampered Chef business today! Increase your sales right now! Download 1000s of files and images, view thousands of Pampered Chef support threads! Totally Free!

Are Discounted Gifts Considered Taxable Income for Home Business Owners?

In summary, the conversation discusses the confusion of categorizing discounts and gifts as business expenses for taxes. Some suggest putting them under "supplies" or "incentives" while others believe it matters to choose the correct category according to IRS rules. The speaker ultimately decides to seek professional help with their taxes.
Nep2nfly
So...this is my first year doing taxes with a home business, and it's been lots of "fun" figuring all these things out. One question that I haven't found an answer to yet is "gifts" - now I'm not talking host gifts - but discount "gifts" - or consultant "sales" where we give a discounted rate or free shipping as part of a promotion - what category does that fall under with taxes? I know this may be a ridiculous question - but I could use "an Idiots guide to direct sales business taxes" - does anyone know the answer to this?
Nancy

Anybody have an answer?

Does this go in "Discounts, rebates, refunds" area of taxes or does it go in MISC under gifts? Anybody!!!!

I don't think it matters which bucket you put your schedule C expenses in. There aren't too many options. If it bothers you to put it in a bucket that you don't think it really fits then you can just put it on the second page and label it "incentives" where they give you room to write it out. HOpe that helps. Now that I think about it, I lumped these types of things in with supplies b/c I was just looking at any discrepancies between what I deposit and what gets deducted for a show....plus if I order door prizes they go on a supply order...oh well.

NewbyPChef said: